Fifty years of insights – celebrating fifty


Two weeks before I turn fifty…Wow! Just this number takes away one beat from my heart. Although many people would say that age is just a number, the real age is the one in our hearts, but still, fifty…I feel respect for this number, because it is not that obvious to reach fifty, each day is a gift, each year a great gift, and turning fifty is even greatest.  Fifty is a great time for soul searching, just to stop and think, remember and feel everything you experienced in your life. That was then... Revital Shiri-Horowitz and friends

The first fifty years of my life passed too fast…They were interesting, variable, challenging, funny, happy, sad, annoying, frustrating, just regular life. Life itself is built from lots and lots of small minutes and big ones, from long hours and very short ones, days that passed in a flash, some were slower, whole life (almost..).

DECEMBER 2008 005

The road I took brought me to be the person I am today. I feel happy and content with who I am today. I learned to accept myself, and even like myself for who I am, the way I am, with the good and bad within me, with the beauty and the ugly, with the laughter and the cry. Life was good to me, thank God; I so much appreciate what I have, what I archived in fifty year, and would never trade my life with anyone else.

How do you summaries fifty years on a piece of paper? Complicated! There are so many ways to do so, and billions of moments to describe. Through my memory I go back to many moments that went by, stopping for a while at the most meaningful ones, where I experienced a full life in minutes, that influenced me forever. Passing through my memory in many meaningful moments, stopping at the happy moments, at challenging ones, at those I learned something about life itself. Stopping at the moments that I felt I missed something, thinking what if I had done something different, stopping at many moments I felt just happy, moments that were hard and sad.

I go through fifty years in a brief, stopping at places I have been, and people who were there with me, people who are still a part of my life, people who are not anymore, people who came back after many years, and people that I lost, some of them forever. All this is still a mystery.

November, 2010 007

 

All those moments, all those people, all those experiences, turned me to the person I am today.

Smells…Pictures… Like little pieces of the past…Smells is one of the strongest things, easy to take me back with just smells: a baby smell, citrus blossom, the smell of the ocean, and many other smells that reminds me of people and places.

Insights…Which insights do I take with me to the next fifty years?

If there is something good in your life, that makes you happy, do your best to protect it.

Life is short, too short, and they are built from little pieces of moments. Just enjoy the moment, enjoy what you have.

Revital Shiri-Horowitz at her booksigning

Go with the flow…Teaching myself to go with the flow. I used to do this more in the past, today much less, sticking too much to the familiar.

Beauty is at the eye of the person, we can choose beauty. We can choose to see the beauty in everything and anything.

To let go…Let go of fears, let go of hardships, to let go of people, to let go of myself. Not to torture myself with things I cannot change.

Breathe. Breathe deeply before saying something. Breathe deeply when you have experiences, breathe deeply when there are hardships, breathe deeply when you love, breathe real deeply when you are angry or mad.

Anger, guilt, negativity, all of the above is worth of letting go. I still have a long ways to go.

A very important insight is the journey itself. Every part of the journey has its own beauty. We are all taking a journey we cannot stop or go back. Time is passing so quickly, so fast, what we have today may not be there tomorrow. Just enjoy the journey.

Giving – Giving in the sake of giving awards the giver much more than the receiver, so just give with open heart and open hands, because it benefits everyone.

Heath – one of the most important insights. Without good health we are not able to fulfill all of the above. So, put energy and effort at maintaining good health, body and soul.

Never be afraid to ask for help – extremely important. Everyone has tough times, where we need a shoulder to lean on, a word of wisdom, support. It is only human, we are all humans. We all need love.

November, 2010 005

Wishing for myself to love and be loved, to hug and be hugged, smile and have lots of great laughers, enjoy the journey, have less stress and cherish everything and each and every moment.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Revital Shiri-Horowitz

Author DAUGHTERS OF IRAQ, and HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON (English and Hebrew versions) novels @ immigrant experience to Israel. Experienced speaker to Jewish communities, bk audiences. Luvs her 4 sons/hubby/Havana Silk dogs http://revital-sh.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fifty years of insights – celebrating fifty

  1. P. C. Zick says:

    Welcome to the fifties! I turned sixty a few months ago and I went through some of the same reflections. Mostly, I marveled at how fast it all passed.

  2. Thanks for the comment Pat! I am sure I will feel that it all passes too fast at sixty too .:)

  3. Amy says:

    Love your post Revital. Those pictures are incredible. Especially the last one ;-). xoxo

Leave a Reply

