From the depths I called for you – An unconditional love


Idan Reichel preformed yesterday evening in Seattle with his partner for the Tour Vieux Farka, a very talented and well known Guitar player. The concert was based on World music, leaning on Israeli-Jewish music and African music, a fascinating combination that left me amazed and touched to the bottom of my heart. There was something special about those specific musicians that made yesterday night special. Their modesty and clear loving souls made a huge impact on me.

 

Beyond the great music, there were some very touching moments yesterday evening for me. First, the fact that I shared this evening with my friend Vered who sat next to me, made me laugh and just have such a good time. The other thing was that we brought our boys with us to watch the show and they loved it! We even got a CD and waited to speak to the artists and get a signature from them.

The highlight of the evening surprised me very much. Idan sang this beautiful song that I heard so many times before: “Mimaamakim” – “From the depth”, Originally a poem from the Bible, a love song for God, but Idan Reichel changed that song or idea to a love between a man and a woman (in Hebrew language there is masculine and feminine). A man is calling for his love to come up from the depths. It was the very first time I really, and I mean really, understood what this song meant, and suddenly there were things flooding me. Here is my translation to some lines in this fantastic song that made me so touched by an unconditioned love:

 

“Who is calling for you tonight – listen

Who is singing towards your open window, tonight?

Who is putting all his soul – just so you will be happy?

Who will be building your house with his hands?

 

Who will give his own life, to put them under yours?

Who will live as the dust under your feet?

Who will love you the most, among all others who loves you?

Who will save you from any bad wind blowing your way?”

 

This song describes an unconditional, true love and giving everything you have and can to the person you love. Those words gave me the chills. I have no idea why just then. After all, I listened to this song so many times before, and yet at that place, that moment I was able to connect to this song in the deepest way, and I thought about the men in my family. I thought about my grandfather, Jacob, may his memory be blessed, and my father, David, may his memory be blessed, and the man that I share my life with for twenty six years, and I thought how all these men did (my husband still does) everything in their for their families and for the women they loved, even though some of these women turned a cold back to them.

My grandfather loved my grandmother until his very last day, and did everything in his power to make her life happy. They started their life together in Iraq. My grandfather was an accountant, in charge of budgeting building bridges over the rivers of Iraq. They had to move from city to city, but my grandfather, who was an amazing, warm and loving person, did everything in his power to make my grandmother`s life as easy as he could. He would wake up very early in the morning, walk to the local market, in the heat of the desert or frozen cold winters, getting very fresh product for the day. Then he would go to work, and when he got back, and very unlikely to other Iraqi men, my grandfather would help with the kids (seven of them). He would shower them, talk to them and help them out in their homework. When the family immigrated to Israel did not wear his white suit anymore, and my grandmother lost any respect towards him. They lived in tents for a couple of years, and then they moved to a tiny, one bedroom house, all nine people. My grandfather would spend the week in distant small villages, doing some accounting work, and would be home only for Shabbat. My grandmother not only lost respect towards my grandfather, she stopped loving him or caring for him, but he kept loving and doing everything he could for her.

My dad adored my mom. I know this for sure, although he never said it out laud, but his very last words were a promise he made me take to take care of my mom. As usual, he was to care for others, not himself. My dad did everything in his power to be a good husband to my mom. He owned a business and worked hard, but just before he was about to retire he lost everything…My dad never used my mom`s first name “Valentin”.  He called her “your mom”, “your grandma”, and when he needed to say something to her directly he would say “would you like to…or can you come here etc..” I think that my mom`s name was sacred to him.

And the man that I share my life with for twenty six years. He is a hard working guy that was always there besides me in happy times and harsh times. My special person wakes up next to me every morning. I do appreciate so much what I have, and bless God every day.

I feel so thankful for being surrounded by these three men who showed me what an unconditionally love means.  I feel blessed I got to know them and love them, and learn from them. Three generations of these men around me taught me so much.

Wishing all of you peace and love and happiness.

 

 

 

About Revital Shiri-Horowitz

Author DAUGHTERS OF IRAQ, and HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON (English and Hebrew versions) novels @ immigrant experience to Israel. Experienced speaker to Jewish communities, bk audiences. Luvs her 4 sons/hubby/Havana Silk dogs http://revital-sh.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

