ADHD and other learning disabilities as life experience


Lately I found myself dealing with lots of information and people inquiring regarding HDHD or ADD, and the impacts it has on people`s life. I even read an article that claims that actually, both, ADD and HDAD do not exist. People actually are suffering from luck of sleep or hunger or other influences of things that makes them think they are lucking with these learning disabilities. Before I even start writing, I just want to make sure you know I am not a professional in this matter. I come from a lifelong experience, where three out of four of my children and I suffer from learning disabilities, and actually even my husband has Dysgraphia.

When I grew up there was nothing like learning disabilities. I was considered as a jumpy kid who cannot sit strait for five minutes. I was chatty, impulsive, unorganized, who never paid attention to the small details, even sloppy. I will never forget all the times I thought I was the stupidest person on earth, tears in my eyes, after I figured I wrote the opposite answer to a question I was supposed to answer. This happened not once or twice, it happened many times. Or, the times I only answered partially for the question I was supposed to answer, because I didn’t even notice there were a few parts in the question.  The subject in High school that I had most difficulties was Geometry.  In Geometry there are many details you need to pay attention to, and multiple stages until you reached the correct answer. Other subjects that had a few stages or parts in the questions always failed me.  I struggled through this in High School, and found my ways at University. I taught myself how to avoid misreading instructions by going over the again and again, making sure I covered everything I had to answer. I had problems with big loads of materials, so I summarized and highlighted things I needed to remember. For those who would be worried that I didn’t make it, rest your minds, I gained two Masters Degrees and I am a qualified High School teacher. I am also an Author who has published two books; I am a Poet and a Blogger. It looks like I turned out ok :). Thanks to my learning disabilities, and because of them. The fact that I have them made some things really difficult, but on the other hand, I also benefited from them. Learning difficulties taught me I needed to be stubborn and work harder, and I taught my kids the same lessons. If I failed once I made it the second or third time, I became an expert in failing, but never gave up. Yes, I cried many times, and felt insulted by my own brain, but I was able to prove to myself that if I wanted something, and I mean REALLY WANTED something, all I had to do is work harder.

ADHD not only challenged me, it gave me also many gifts I am so grateful for. I am able to write, speak on the phone and listen to music at the same time! I was able to raise our four boys mostly by myself with very little help, since my husband used to travel so much for his work, and still, I was able throughout these years to study or write. The greatest gift of all is my creativity, mostly in writing, but also in problem solving. I am able to think “outside the box”, and I give the credit to ADHD.

If it was up to me to choose whether I can be born with or without learning disabilities, I, for sure, would choose to be born with what I have, because of the challenges and thanks to them.  And, BTW, even the fact that I can blog in English is a great achievement for me, I am so grateful to be able to be able to express  thoughts and feelings in both Hebrew and English languages.

When we realized that our oldest has a few learning disabilities that made studding process more challenging for him, I was very sad. I felt awful. I actually only then, learned that he got some of them from me (at age 35 I realized for the first time that I have learning disabilities). I felt responsible and helpless and sad, but things turn out ok. Our son is an excellent student in University. With lots of support my husband and I gave him throughout the years, he was able to come up with his own tools for success, and learned that hard work pays off.

At the end of the day it is us who make the decision whether we let our challenges in life take over and control our lives, or we use our challenges for learning and growing, not only in our studding process, but at all areas in our lives.

Have a wonderful week; hope that kindness and goodness will feel your days.

 

About Revital Shiri-Horowitz

Author DAUGHTERS OF IRAQ novel @ immigrant experience to Israel. Experienced speaker to Jewish communities, bk audiences. Luvs her 4 sons/hubby/Havana Silk dogs http://revital-sh.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ADHD and other learning disabilities as life experience

  1. Tamar Vered says:

    אהבתי כל מילה! אין כמוך.

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  2. Rosa says:

    הי , קראתי את המאמר ובכיתי( באמת) , כל מה שכתבת זה אלי ….
    ונכון שכל הקשיים הללו בסופו של דבר חיזקו אותי עדיין כנראה הייתי מבטרת אליהם … אני מתפללת שאף אחד מילדי לא יהיה דומה לי ….
    תודה לך וסליחה אל טעויות כתיב .

  3. Adam Simon | Real Assets says:

    Revital,

    I’ve been meaning to write you about this post earlier. I’ve always found it fascinating how modern medicine tends to compartmentalize a spectrum of learning and medicate normal ranges of behavior. Of course there may be excessive, destructive behavior at the outer edges of the spectrum that require more medical attention, but for many of the great boys and girls that I see with “ADHD”, I see kids who are built for a type of learning htat may not exist in the classroom, but definitely exists in life. Perhaps its the classrooms that need medication, not the students.

    My thoughts

    Adam

    • Thank you Adam for your comment. I think that ADHD and all its versions kids do need a different approach than other kids, the most important thing is to have them know that they are as smart as all other kids, and even more. I think that this is a life changing matter for them.

Leave a Reply

