And here we go again…WAR


I have not written on my English blog for quite a while, but cannot stay silent now. About a year and a half ago, last November, not so far back, there was another war, they call it “operation”, but it is actually a war, where citizens are being bombed. I am talking about Israel, of course. Chamas was firing missiles towards Israeli civilians.  A year and a half ago I was with my husband and four boys in Tel Aviv, where we lived for a year and a half. Missiles were shooting into Tel Aviv. Our boys were so shocked. It was horrible.

I was born and raised in Israel, so used (unfortunately) for wars. I was two at the first war I experienced, eight at the second one and so on and on. Israel is never a quiet, and a “normal” place to live in. I was so used to wars, that it really struck me when I left Israel for the first time in my life, spending a year in London, how sick the place I was born and raised in, was. It is so sad. When I write “sick” I mean that kids are being raised not in a stable place. Everything can happen every single day. You are ready for things to strike at all times; this is called PTS, post traumatic syndrome. I guess that most Israelis suffer from this syndrome, yes, me too. It took many years and lots of therapy to realize this.

And there we go again; there is another war, missiles reaching almost every spot in Israel. And I am wondering, how come the world is not putting an end to that suffering. Israel is so human, still supplying with energy and water to the Gaza civilians; we do realize they are suffering too.

Israel gave Gaza to the Palestinians. Israel handed them the beautiful houses that were there, the green houses, the fields. What they did is turn these places to nothing but a dead land. They teach their kids hate, they are targeting civilians, trying to kill as many as possible in every way they can, and the world is silent. If it has a voice it is usually against Israel. And I wonder if there is another Country in any place of the world that would tolerate with its people being a target of terrorists’ attacks all the time. The South of Israel is being bombed almost every day for over eight years, and Israel is building shelters to protect those people, but I wonder, how come there is no UN force sitting in Gaza, and just stopping what is happening there, like Lebanon, for example.

Israelis are being bombed all day long all over Israel. I am sitting in my Seattle home safe, my kids are no longer there, they can live normal life and enjoy this beautiful Seattle summer, while my extended family and many friends and their families are sitting in shelters, living in fear. No kid should know fear, neither adult. Please pray for the land of Israel and support the people anyway you can.

 

About Revital Shiri-Horowitz

Author DAUGHTERS OF IRAQ, and HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON (English and Hebrew versions) novels @ immigrant experience to Israel. Experienced speaker to Jewish communities, bk audiences. Luvs her 4 sons/hubby/Havana Silk dogs http://revital-sh.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And here we go again…WAR

  1. Every Israeli suffers from anxiety, and if our enemies gloat at it, they should realize that the Palestinians are in the same boat, if not worse. No one gains from it. There are never winners in wars. Only losers.
    Israel, as opposed to world’s opinion, is extremely humane! There are no other countries in the world that warns their enemy before attacking their terrorists. Yes, terrorists, who hide behind children as human shield.
    And yet, we will keep stretch our hands towards peace if the Palestinians will choose life one day. We will always choose life. Until then, hope is the best thing we humans have.

  2. Amy says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and feelings Revital. My heart is aching right now at the terrible news. We have extended family there whose children have been called up for extra duty. I’m praying for a swift end to this wave of violence. Much love, Amy

  3. P. C. Zick says:

    It is so sad, so very very sad. Thank you for expressing your thoughts in such an eloquent manner, Revital.

Leave a Reply

