When the time is right


 

These days, we are almost closing on a year in Israel. What an experience it was for us, full with new learning about the world that is surrounding us, and mostly about our immediate family and ourselves. Coming here was a really good choice. I am still not sure we will stay here, I still do not feel like this is actually my home (maybe it is a matter of time…), but there are so many things I am thankful for.

I am thankful for the fact that our kids adjusted well here. They learned Hebrew, now they can read and write fluently. I feel like they made a closer connection with their Judaism too.  They made new friends, and our house is starting to fill with kids, like it used to be in the US. When we left, a whole bunch of kids came to say goodbye, saying how our house was like a home to them for many years. I remember how I was touched by this. Our kids also met with our extended family many times, starting to match faces with names. I love my house here, and enjoy the sun and the beautiful beaches, I enjoy the Hebrew too.

I got sick here, and learned the best lesson someone should learn: our bodies needs to be maintained…We need to put energy in making our bodies strong, it is after all our shells, and we need our souls to be strong too, just so we can function, be healthy and happy. Only when you get sick you start appreciating the little things in life, really tiny little things, like even getting out of bed, cooking for your family, and even walking your dog.  I saw how hard it was for my kids and husband when I was sick. Everything had changed: the everyday routine, their moods, I saw how worried they were. I never want to go back there. I wish and pray for all of us to be healthy and strong.

Where do we go from here? And if life in Israel were such a great experience, then why even reconsider moving back to the US? Like everything in life, nothing has a simple answer. First of all we have our oldest son studding in the US we miss him so much every single day, and second, as most of you know, Israel is a unique place in the Middle East. It is the only Democracy, and it is the only Jewish country in the world. Israel is struggling every day to make this place “normal”. Every kid 18 years old needs to serve in the Military for three years. Kids go to College after their Military service. Taxes are so high, that people find it very hard to make it through everyday life. This is a hot place; people are emotional and sometimes even violence. They say what they think; even if you are not prepared to hear it…I am not sure this place is for me anymore. You can defiantly find here people who have golden hearts, but again, after so many years abroad, I am not sure I can get used to the so fast life paste here.

Will we find ourselves back in the US? The future is a mystery for me too. I promise to keep you posted…

About Revital Shiri-Horowitz

Author DAUGHTERS OF IRAQ novel @ immigrant experience to Israel. Experienced speaker to Jewish communities, bk audiences. Luvs her 4 sons/hubby/Havana Silk dogs http://revital-sh.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When the time is right

  1. ksbenson says:

    A nice post, Revital. Although there is no place better than home, it is sometimes good to go out and see other places. I’ll be visiting Israel someday.

Leave a Reply

