A totally unusual day


It was a usual Seattle morning for most people, but not for our family. The sky were grey, and it was a little cool, as we took three of our kids, one little dog and tons of luggage and drove to the airport. We boarded the airplane that would take us to Atlanta. There we would switch planes and board to Israel.

We have decided to give it a chance, and try living back there. Planning for this move was complicated. Even now we are not sure yet things will work out for our divided family. Our oldest son decided to stay in Washington, and is about to start school at the University of Oregon. He had hoped so much to be accepted there, and when he did (it took a while, since he was on a waiting list) we just thought that since he had worked so hard, we should do everything we could to help him fulfill his dreams.

As a daughter of a mom who had a hard time letting me go, I really understand how my son feels. I will never stand in his way, even if it means paying this hard price of not having him close to us, living on the other side of the world. The sorrow is mutual as our son is having a hard time thinking he will no longer have us close to him, but we promised him he is ready for this. We taught him to depend on himself. We on the other hand, will be helping him in any way we can.

But for us, it is time to move back to Israel.

Our 15 year old is having a very hard time with this move. It is a tough age to be leaving your friends, the place you are so used to, a language you know perfectly, and be moved to a totally different place. However, as parents, we came to the conclusion that if we waited another year it would be even harder for him. If we waited longer, he would not follow. We are hoping to keep our family together, hoping that our oldest son will eventually immigrate to Israel and live close to us again.

Our two younger boys had a hard time saying goodbye to their friends, too. Moving is not easy for them either, but we are hoping that they will adjust quickly. Our dog, Sheleg, a little Havana, won’t like the travel, but we think that she will enjoy the warm weather; the warm weather we have missed so much.

Life is not easy in Israel. There is always something happening there. I am praying for Peace, and am hoping that everything will be fine. I miss too much to stay away. I miss my extended family and friends in Israel. I miss the sea and the sand. I miss, so much, the Hebrew language, the literature, the poetry, the terrific theatre, the awesome food and the very well-known streets I grew up in. My husband and I are excited and nervous at the same time We are hoping this is indeed the right thing for our family.

Keep your fingers crossed for us, and please say a little prayer.

About Revital Shiri-Horowitz

Author DAUGHTERS OF IRAQ novel @ immigrant experience to Israel. Experienced speaker to Jewish communities, bk audiences. Luvs her 4 sons/hubby/Havana Silk dogs http://revital-sh.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Migration, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A totally unusual day

  1. Olga says:

    We miss all of you already and hope to see you sometime soon.
    May your new journey be easy for your family and may your new life in Israel bring you happiness and peace.
    Please, keep writing, so we will know what is going on with all of you.
    Good luck and all the very best.

    With love, Olga

  2. Leah says:

    You are in my thoughts and prayers. I’m sure all will work well and you will be happy back in Israel. I have only been once (in December 1996), but I’ve longed to go back. Good luck to you and your family!

  3. Stuart Land says:

    What a surprise, Revital! It’s funny, but you will actually be much closer to where I live than Washington state, yet it feels like you are moving away. I’ve never been to Israel either, but hopefully, one day I will get there. Bet of luck in all you do.

    Stuart

  4. jackie says:

    Always remember – nothing is permanent except when the good Lord calls us home. If things don’t work out, we’re all here waiting for you. Safe travels and may your new life be blessed.

    Thinking of you as always.
    Fondly,
    Jackie

  5. Donna says:

    Dear Revital,

    As part of your “extended family” I will miss you and the kids very much. I always enjoyed the surprise visits by the boys. On the other hand, “home” is calling; I understand the feeling of connectedness to your roots. You are very wise to allow your oldest son to find his way and realize his dream. Beginnings and changes are difficult. I feel your struggle and know in my heart you have made a good decision. …and “sun” sounds so wonderful for someone experiencing such a gray summer.

    Love,
    Donna

  6. Cathy says:

    You are a brave soul and a brave family. Blessings to you all…

  7. sugarpeach says:

    Hi Revital, I will be praying for you and your family. Moving back is always difficult… you’ve just got to hope, keep faith and trust sometimes. 🙂 Israel is a beautiful place. I hope your family adjusts well.

  8. Thank you for sharing your journey. I can’t imagine how difficult this type of decision would be. I hope to see you again soon. Maybe next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

