This comfi old fence


It is a beautiful
Wednesday night in Seattle area. I love summers here, it is the best season. The sun is shining still at 8:00 pm. Everything around is green and beautiful. I even have nice herbs at my backyard  for tea, and strawberries that keep coming back and even expanding each year.

I love the
NW in the summers. The biggest and a very well-known joke about Seattle is that a new neighbor asks a seven year old kid on their street after a few rainy days: “Hey, when does it stop raining?” The kid says, “I don’t know. I am only seven.” This is the joke, but it is not true for summers. It rains at times, but you do enjoy the lakes and, parks and the comfi temperatures.

I remember
the first day sixteen years ago when I first got here. My husband and I had a two year old, and I was at the very beginning of a second pregnancy. I remember that while we were driving to our first location, I noticed beautiful Mount Rainier popping out and disappearing, gorgeous Lake Washington on the left of the road, and me thinking that you don’t really need to die just to get to Heaven, you just need to come to Seattle.

And the grey, never ending rainy days came later.

I love the
NW, but it took me a long time to get used to it. I was born and raised in Israel, where everything happens all the time. There is no down time there; it is active and crazy, lively and beautiful, emotional and sad, and my emotions are always so mixed up thinking of my one and only Israel, whom I always miss so much, and care for like a little baby, and yet, life is so complicated there.

When I moved
to Washington I thought that I am dream walking most of the time. Nothing ever happens here. The biggest news is about the weather, and baseball, and the new soccer team we have, and about the fact that we no longer have a basketball team. And the rain…The rain drove me nuts. It could rain here for weeks without a break, and people would check the records to see if it broke it or not.

It took me a
long time to get used to the fact that not everyone needs to be involved with my personal life. In the beginning it felt so lonely, but I started liking it, and now when I think about life back in Israel I am a little worried it might be just too much for me. I am not used to it anymore, so I stay on the fence. I do not really belong here, but not even sure I belong there.

I am a migrator.
One of my best friends (an Israeli-American himself) once told me that he and his family are people of the world, and they belong everywhere.  I find it hard to feel the same, so I am still asking those questions, and not necessary having answers. I am wondering how it is for other people…

P.S. The lecture
in Berkeley
was a fun and a successful one. I am looking forward to my next lectures, meeting with people, telling them about my book.

***

Revital Shiri-Horowitz is the author of Daughters of Iraq. Site:www.revital-sh.com.

More about the author here and her presentations here.

About Revital Shiri-Horowitz

Author DAUGHTERS OF IRAQ novel @ immigrant experience to Israel. Experienced speaker to Jewish communities, bk audiences. Luvs her 4 sons/hubby/Havana Silk dogs http://revital-sh.com/
This entry was posted in Migration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This comfi old fence

  1. Olga says:

    I can relate to many of your feelings, Revital. In Russia, we discuss our personal life problems with all and everyone and we also have things happend all the time… It is different here for me as well… I am migrator too, but the fact that I am here with my kids who are Americans, makes me feel that I belong here. Whoever said you are where your home is could be right and my home is where my family is… my husband and boys.
    Did I ever tell you that I love your writing?
    Cheers, Olga

  2. Thanks Olga my dear friend. I know that my family is my home, I realized that many years ago, when I was here with two boys and Amnon went on a business trip. I felt like I lost my home when he left, and that was so weird…I have my family and I know I am the luckiest person on earth…

  3. totsymae1011 says:

    I’ve recently started to wonder where my place is. I am leaning toward your best friend’s views. I guess it’s somewhat similar to how I feel about family. It is who you feel at home with.

    It seems nice to be in a place where no one is injecting themselves into your personal life so much. I think I would like that part of Seattle. I could even adapt to the rain if that were the case. No matter what, I suppose it’s always best to have the outlook to enjoy the moment we’re in, regardless of place. Home will always be there.

    Enjoyed that natural element of peace and reflection in your writing.

  4. I am visiting as part of the Blogger Ball. 🙂 Glad to have found you!

    Beautiful post, thanks. I have been thinking a lot lately about what makes a place home, and this is a really nice angle on that question.

  5. Welcome Kelly, happy to meet you! Home is many things, but the most important is your loved ones. I will visit you too, see you soon.

    Best, Revital
    http://www.revital-sh.com

  6. Paying a belated visit following on from the She Write Blog Hop!

Leave a Reply

